Travel information

Getting to Naxos

Getting to Naxos, transfer and ferries

All information about your transfer in Athens, ferry connections from Piraeus to Naxos and the arrival via Santorini. Additional we offer an accommodation on Santorini in case you plan to stay some days on Santorini.
Depending on the location, there are possibilities of arrival via Athens, Mykonos and Santorini. Flights to Athens are in most cases the cheapest. However transfer costs in Athens, from the airport in the north of Athens to the port in Piraeus, and of course the costs for the ferry have to be considered. Many of our Naxos guests combine their holiday on Naxos with a stopover in Athens.

A more expensive alternative is a direct flight with Olympic Air from Athens to Naxos. The flight time is only 25 minutes. However the ticket price of almost 100 euro is relatively expensive. Flight to Naxos can be booked either with Olympic or with Aegean. Prices are the same.

In case you plan a stopover in Athens, you can find some information further down on this site.
parallax background

A stay in Athens
is always worthwhile

Athens is worth it

Sightseeing, gastronomy and hotels in Athens

In Athens you will not only find Acropolis and Parthenon, but also many more attractions. It is really worth it to spend one or more days in the city to discover the numerous attractions and events taking place. In case you have questions regarding a stay in Athens, we are pleased to help you.

1. Sightseeing

Acropolis

Of course the first stop on our tour is the Acropolis. High above the city you will find the Parthenon.In summer (April to October) the Acropolis opens daily from 08.00 until 20.00. The rest of the year the opening hours are 08.30 until 15.00. The ticket costs 20 euros, and is valid for many other archaeological sites. Location: In the center, direct over the area of Plaka. To reach by metro, line 2 (red) station Acropolis.

New Acropolis Museum

Directly across Acropolis, about 100 meters from the metro station, is located the new Acropolis museum. The museum is in terms of architecture a very impressive building, and the exhibits it houses are masterpieces of the ancient Greek civilization. The sculptures are standing “free” in the galleries and you have the opportunity to view them from all sides. Very impressive! The museum is open Tuesday - Sunday from 08.00 until 20.00 and on Fridays until 22.00. Tickets cost 5 euros and you can buy them online.
Information you can find on the museums website.

Monastiraki & Plaka

At the foot of the Acropolis lies the oldest part of Athens, Plaka. Most of the Plaka area is a pedestrian zone and feels like you are in a small village. There are many tavernas and restaurants, gift and jewellery shops and cafés. Obviously, Plaka is very touristic and the food is not always the best you can find in Athens. Nevertheless, it is definitely worth it to walk through Plaka and Monastiraki, right next to various monuments and excavations. Not far away, on foot on the way to Syntagma Square (Constitution Square) you will get to Ermou street, the main shopping street downtown.

Lycabettus

The Lycabettus hill is at 277 meters the highest point of the city offering a breathtaking view of Athens, especially in the evening. On top of the hill there is a small chapel, a café, a restaurant and an open air theatre. If you are in a good physical condition, you can walk to the top. Or as an alternative you can take the funicular, located in Aristippou Str. During the high season or the weekends expect long queues. The funicular runs every half hour and costs 7 euros up the hill and back, which is rather expensive for a ride of 5 minutes.

Museum of Cycladic Art

The museum of Cycladic art exhibits ancient art mainly from the Cyclades islands. The museum is not far away from Syntagma square, housed in an impressive neoclassic mansion. The museum is open Monday - Saturday (except Tuesday) from 10.00 until 17.00, and on Thursday until 20.00. On Sunday it is open 11.00 - 17.00. Tickets cost 7 euros. The museum is located near Syntagma square, in Neophytou Douka Str. 4.

Kolonaki

If you visit the Museum of Cycladic Art, you are already in the most famous shopping area of Athens, Kolonaki. It is one of the most expensive neighbourhoods of the city, full of trendy designers’ shops and one of the beloved spots of the locals for a cup of coffee. The best spot to see and to be seen around town. In the evening Kolonaki is a meeting point. There are many nice small bars in the streets around the square, however bear in mind that a beer or an alcoholic drink costs anything between 6 and 8 euros.

Panathenaic stadium

The Panathenaic stadium is the olympic stadium of the first modern Olympic games in 1896. The stadium was located originally 1 km east of the Acropolis, where the Panathenaic Games in honor to the goddess Athena took place. Today the stadium is located at Leoforos Vasileos Konstantinou 116.

Marina Flisvos

If you just want to relax sipping a coffee or a cocktail, Marina Flisvos (or Marina Alimos for that matter) is the place to go. Both marinas are accessible by tram. Ride the tram from Syntagma square, direction Stadio Irinis and get off at Flisvos station. One way tickets cost 1,20 euros per person. You can use the same ticket both ways for up to 70 minutes.

2. Hotels

Amazon Hotel

The Amazon Hotel is located central at Syntagma square in the center of Athens. All well known sites like the Acropolis, Plaka and Monastiraki can be reached on foot . All rooms were recently renovated and are equiped with bathroom, air conditioning, Sat TV, fridge with mini bar, safe and internet. hotel website.

Fresh Hotel

Hotel Fresh is located central, close to the Metro station Omonia. From the hotel sightseeing is quite easy because all well known sites in Athens, like the Acropolis, Plaka and Monastiraki can be reached on foot. The hotel offers modern rooms, during high season from 90 euros and during off-season from 65 euros. hotel website

3. Taverns and restaurants

Tavern Ammos

The tavern Ammos is located in the small port (Mikrolimanos) of Piraeus. On the street there are many bars and taverns. But the best one is Ammos. If you are lucky and get a table at the waterfront,you have a wonderful sea view.The quality of the classic Greek meze, fish and meat dishes is amazingly good and the staff very friendly and attentive. A reservation is required in most cases because the tavern is very popular among Greeks.

Restaurant Orizontes

The restaurant is located at the highest point in Athens, the Lycabettus hill. The restaurant is not cheap but it is a unique experience to enjoy the evening on the terrace overlooking the entire city. To get to the restaurant you can use the funicular or a taxi. Of course you can also walk the whole distance up to the top of the hill.

Tavern Sholarhio

The tavern Sholarhio is located below the Acropolis in the ancient district of Plaka. It is known that Plaka is one of the most touristic parts of Athens, still this traditional tavern provides very good classic Greek dishes in a friendly atmosphere. We can recommend all "mezedes" (appetizers) and main dishes. Please do not hesitate to ask us for more information or recommendations in case you plan to stay some days in Athens.

Infos zur Anreise nach Naxos

Reiseinformationen

Anreise, Transfer und Fähren nach Naxos

Hier erhalten Sie wichtige und hilfreiche Informationen zur Anreise nach Naxos. Vom Transfer in Athen über Fährverbindungen von Piräus nach Naxos bis hin zu einigen Informationen zur Anreise über Santorini. Unseren Gästen stehen wir jederzeit sehr gerne für weiterführende Informationen zur Verfügung.
Abhängig vom Standort, bieten sich Anreisemöglichkeiten über Athen, Mykonos und Santorini. Flüge nach Athen sind meist günstiger. Jedoch sollte man hier die zusätzlichen Kosten für den Transfer vom Flughafen im Norden Athens nach Piräus sowie die Kosten für die Fähre nach Naxos einplanen. Sehr viele Naxos Urlauber verbinden die Anreise mit einem Kurzaufenthalt in Athen.

Eine etwas teurere Alternative ist der Direktflug mit Olympic Air von Athen nach Naxos. Die reine Flugzeit beträgt lediglich 25 Minuten. Jedoch ist der Flugpreit mit knapp 100 Euro pro Strecke verhältnismäßig teuer. Die Flüge nach Naxos können sowohl bei Olympic als auch bei Aegean gebucht werden. Die Preise sind identisch.

Wer über Athen anreist und einen Zwischenaufenthalt plant, findet nachfolgend noch einige Informationen zur Stadt.

Ein Aufenthalt in Athen
lohnt sich immer

Athen lohnt sich

Sehenswürdigkeiten, Gastronomie und Hotels in Athen

In Athen gibt es Vieles das man unbedingt einmal im Leben gesehen haben muss. Wir haben für Sie die interessantesten Sehenswürdigkeiten herausgesucht. Im Fall eines Aufenthaltes in Athen können Sie uns gerne für weitere Fragen kontaktieren. Wir helfen Ihnen gerne auch in Athen weiter. Zusätzlich erhalten Sie einige Hotel und Tavernen Tipps. Mehr Informationen können Sie jederzeit von uns persönlich erhalten.

1. Sehenswürdigkeiten

Akropolis

An erster Stelle steht natürlich die Akropolis. Hoch über Athen thront der weltbekannte Parthenon. Ein Muss wenn Sie nach Athen kommen. Die Akropolis ist im Sommer (April bis Oktober) täglich von 08.00 Uhr bis 20.00 Uhr geöffnet, ansonsten von 08.30 Uhr bis 15.00 Uhr. Das Ticket kostet 20 Euro, ist jedoch nicht nur für die Akropolis sondern für viele andere archäologische Stätten in Athen gültig. Seit geraumer Zeit gibt es reduzierte Eintrittspreise für Rentner, Studenten und Arbeitslose.

Neues Akropolis Museum

Direkt unterhalb der Akropolis, etwas 100 Meter von der Metro Station, befindet sich das Neue Akropolis Museum. Zum einen ist das Museum ein architektonisch sehr beeindruckendes Gebäude, zum anderen gibt es die Antike hautnah zu sehen. Die Skulpturen stehen frei im Raum, so dass man als Besucher einen freien Zugang und Rundumblick auf die antiken Objekte hat. Sehr beeindruckend! Das Museum ist von Dienstag bis Sonntag von 08.00 Uhr bis 20.00 und freitags bis 22.00 Uhr geöffnet. Die Eintrittskarte kostet 5 Euro. Ebenso besteht die Möglichkeit Tickets online zu bestellen.
Infos gibt es auf der Internetseite des Museums.

Monastiraki & Plaka

Unterhalb der Akropolis liegt der älteste Stadtteil Athens, die Plaka. Die Plaka ist zum Großteil Fußgängerzone und man kommt sich fast vor wie in einem kleinen Dorf. Es gibt viele Tavernen und Restaurants, Geschäfte und Cafés. Natürlich ist die Plaka sehr touristisch und das Essen nicht überall das Beste das man in Athen finden kann. Dennoch lohnt es sich einen Spaziergang durch die Plaka und das direkt angrenzende Monastiraki zu machen.Nicht weit entfernt, zu Fuß in Richtung Syntagma Square befindet sich die Einkaufsstraße Ermou.

Lykabettus

Der Lykabettus Berg oder Hügel ist der höchste Punkt der Stadt. Wenn man die 277 Meter erklommen hat, wird man mit einem atemberaubenden Ausblick auf die Stadt belohnt. Auf dem Berg gibt es sowohl ein Café, als auch ein Restaurant. Wer etwas Ausdauer hat, kann den Berg Lykabettus zu Fuß hinauflaufen. Eine Alternative zum Fußmarsch ist die Standseilbahn. Die Station befindet sich in der Aristippou Str. Die Bahn fährt im Halbstundentakt und kostet 7 Euro für die Hin- und Rückfahrt, was nicht ganz billig ist. denn die Fahrt dauert gerade mal 5 Minuten.

Museum der Kykladenkunst

Das Museum der Kykladen Kunst. zeigt antike Kunst der Kykladen und Griechenlands. Das Museum ist von Montag bis Samstag (außer Dienstag) von 10.00 Uhr bis 17.00 Uhr, am Donnerstag bis 20.00 Uhr geöffnet. Sonntags von 11.00 Uhr bis 17.00 Uhr. Die Standard Eintrittskarte kostet derzeit 7 Euro. Das Museum befindet sich nicht weit vom Syntagma Platz, in der Neophytou Douka Str. 4.

Kolonaki

Sollten Sie das Kykladen Museum besuchen, befinden Sie sich bereits auf der bekannteste Einkaufsmeile Athens, in Kolonaki. Es ist ebenso eine der teureren Wohngegenden Athens. Hier gibt es viele Geschäfte und der Athener trinkt hier in einem der zahlreichen Cafés gerne seinen Kaffee. Denn sehen und gesehen werden ist in Kolonaki alles. Am Abend ist Kolonaki ein In-Treffpunkt. Es gibt viele sehr schöne kleine Bars. Die Getränkepreise in den Bars sind vergleichsweise teuer. Meist bezahlt man für ein Getränk zwischen 6 und 8 Euro.

Panathinaikon Stadion

Das panathinaikon Stadion ist das Olympia Stadion der ersten Olympischen Spiele der Neuzeit im Jahre 1896. Das ursprüngliche Stadion lag ca. 1 km östlich der Akropolis und wurde im Jahr 330 v. Chr. erbaut. Hier fand die bedeutenste Feier des antiken Athens statt, die Panathenäischen Spiele. Das Stadion befindet sich heute am Rande der Innenstadt in der Leoforos Vasileos Konstantinou 116.

Jachthafen Flisvos

Wer sich bei einem Kaffee oder Cocktail einfach nur entspannen will, der ist am Jachthafen Flisvos genau richtig. Mit der Straßenbahn ist der Jachthafen sehr gut zu erreichen. Man fährt von Syntagma in Richtung Stadio Irinis bis zur Haltestelle Flisvos. Und hier sehen Sie die Fahrt auf der Karte. Die einfache Fahrt mit der Straßenbahn kostet 1,20 Euro pro Person. Fahrkarten können am Automaten an der Haltestelle gelöst werden.

2. Hotels

Amazon Hotel

Das Amazon Hotel liegt sehr zentral am Syntagma Platz im Zentrum Athens. Von hier aus erreichen Sie die Einkaufsmeile Ermou, die Akropolis und Plaka sowie viele andere Sehenswürdigkeiten Athens zu Fuß. Alle Zimmer des Hotels wurden kürzlich renoviert und verfügen über Badezimmer, Klimaanlage, Satelliten TV, Kühlschrank mit Minibar, Safe und Internet. Webseite des Hotels

Fresh Hotel

Das Hotel Fresh liegt sehr zentral nahe der U-Bahn Station Omonia. Sie erreichen alle Sehenswürdigkeiten Athens, wie zum Beispiel die Akropolis, Plaka, Monastiraki bequem zu Fuß. Webseite des Hotels

3. Tavernen und Restaurants

Taverne Ammos

Die Taverne Ammos liegt im kleinen Hafen (Mikrolimano) von Piräus. Wenn man Glück hat und einen Tisch vorne am Wasser bekommt, hat man einen wunderbaren Blick aufs Meer. Die Qualität der klassischen griechischen Mezedes, der Fisch- und Fleischgerichte sind bestechend gut, und die Bedienung sehr freundlich und aufmerksam. Eine telefonische Reservierung ist jedoch in den meisten Fällen erforderlich, da die Taverne nicht nur am Wochenende sehr gut besucht ist.

Restaurant Orizontes

Das Restaurant Orizontes liegt auf der höchsten Erhebung Athens, dem Lykabettus Hügel. Das Restaurant ist nicht ganz billig, jedoch ist es ein einmaliges Erlebnis am Abend auf der Terrasse den Ausblick über die ganze Stadt zu genießen. Die Auffahrt zum Restaurant kann man entweder mit der Standseilbahn oder dem Taxi machen. Für Wanderfreunde lässt sich der steile Aufstieg auch zu Fuß bewältigen.

Taverne Sholarhio

Die Taverne Sholarhio befindet sich unterhalb der Akropolis im alten Stadtteil Plaka. Bekanntermaßen ist Plaka eine der touristischsten Gegenden Athens, und dennoch bietet die Taverne nach einer Neueröffnung durchweg sehr gute klassische griechische Speisen. Alle Mezedes (Vorspeisen) und Hauptgerichte kann man sehr empfehlen.