Taverns and restaurants

Taverns and restaurants

Gastronomy on Naxos

One of many highlights on Naxos is the food. Naxos is well known for the big variety of products cultivated on the island. When you go out for a meal in one of the restaurants or tavernas on the island you will easily find great dishes. Here are just some of the best tavernas and restaurants on the island. Enjoy your meal and your holiday on the island.

Metaxi Mas

Metaxi Mas is located in the old market of Chora. It is a very cozy taverna with old stone walls. All dishes offered are very tasty. There is a big selection of classic Greek appetizers (Mezedes) and main courses. Also the wine from the own wineyard is very good. All that high quality food is available for really good prices. The Metaxi Mas is open the whole year round and during high season we recommend reserving a table.Website of the tavern

Meze 2

One of the best restaurants at the port of Naxos town (Chora) is Meze2. Open during the whole year, it offers daily a wide range of fresh fish and various sea food of top quality, as well as many standard Greek dishes, all at reasonable prices. The service is friendly and efficient. It has a lively atmosphere with people of all ages enjoying the sunset or the harbor atmosphere. During high season we definitely recommend reserving a table as it is frequented by both the locals as well as groups of tourists. Facebook Site of Meze

O Apostolis

The family tavern Apostolis is tucked in the old town of Chora, in a little square up the market street which feels like a romantic shaded courtyard. It is a classic Greek tavern with all well-known appetizers and main courses, based on fresh local produce. The food is high quality, the portions are decent and the service is friendly. In all, an excellent value for money.

The taverna

Restaurant “The Taverna” is located by the swimming pool on the roof of the 5 stars’ Naxos Island Hotel in Agios Prokopios. The Taverna serves snacks, coffee and juices during the whole day, as well as fine traditional Greek and international cuisine at reasonable prices. It is open to both the hotel’s guests and the public and it offers an amazing view of Agios Prokopios bay and the coast of Paros across the sea. In the Taverna you can enjoy a high quality dinner with excellent service and watch a romantic sunset or gaze at the moon through the professional telescope located on the roof. Website of the restaurant
parallax background

Best dishes on Naxos

Paradiso

Paradiso tavern is located at the beginning of Plaka beach (Maragas), just a couple hundred meters from the small port of Agia Anna. They serve fresh fish and seafood as well as typical Greek dishes – appetizers and main courses - right at the beach. Actually, they serve some tables on the sand, under a tree. It is an ideal location to enjoy your coffee in the morning or the sunset in the afternoon or the stars in the evening.

Tavern Mikri Vigla

The tavern Mikri Vigla is located at the second bay of Mikri Vigla, just after the kitesurfers’ beach. The tavern is directly on the beach since 1966, serving fresh products produced by the family and a variety of daily cooked delicious dishes. During noon and afternoon it can be quite crowded and in high season it is often difficult to find a table. The quality of all appetizers and main dishes is excellent and the service in this tavern is great. Enjoy the view to the still waters at moderate prices!

Efthimios

A trip to the northwest side of Naxos is worth it in any case. Located at the bay of Abram, easily accessible at 20 km from Naxos town, the tavern Efthimios is right on the beach on a big veranda that overlooks the clear waters of the sea. The tavern offers homemade traditional cuisine and fresh fish. The location is ideal if you want to avoid the crowds, enjoy a majestic sunset and admire the sculptures decorating the tavern.

Tavernen und Restaurants

Tavernen und Restaurants

Gastronomie auf Naxos

Naxos ist berühmt für seine einmaligen Produkte, die auf der Insel angebaut und kultiviert werden. Deshalb findet man auf Naxos fast ausschließlich köstliches Essen in traditionellen Tavernen und Restaurants. Käse, Kartoffeln, Paprika, Tomaten und nicht zuletzt Fleisch aus eigener, biologischer Aufzucht sind nur einige Beispiele und machen die angebotenen Menüs zu einer reinen Gaumenfreude. Dazu ein Glas Wein aus Naxos und die Welt ist in Ordnung.

Metaxi Mas

Das Metaxi Mas befindet sich im Alten Markt in Chora. Es ist eine urgemütliche Taverne mit alten Steinmauern. Alle angebotenen Speisen sind sehr lecker. Es gibt eine große Auswahl an klassischen griechischen Vorspeisen (Mezedes) und Hauptgerichten. Bei bestechend guter Qualität und ausgezeichnetem Service ist das Metaxi Mas auch noch eine der preiswertesten Tavernen auf Naxos. Das Metaxi Mas ist das ganze Jahr geöffnet. In der Hauptsaison sollte man jedoch einen Tisch für den Abend bestellen, da die Taverne sehr gut besucht ist. Webseite der Taverne

Meze 2

Eine der besten Tavernen am Hafen von Naxos Stadt ist das Meze 2. Die Taverne bietet eine große Auswahl an frischen Fischgerichten, sowie alle klassischen griechischen Gerichte. Die Gäste werden sehr freundlich und zuvorkommend bedient und die Preise sind moderat.Auch das Meze 2 ist eine der wenigen Tavernen die über das ganze Jahr geöffnet ist. Auch im Meze 2 sollte man in der Hauptsaison einen Tisch reservieren, da die Taverne sowohl von Touristen als auch von Einheimischen regelmäßig besucht wird. Facebook Seite der Taverne

O Apostolis

Direkt neben bzw. unterhalb des Metaxi Mas befindet sich die Taverne O Apostolis. Die Taverne bietet eine Vielzahl an Mezedes (Vorspeisen) und Hauptgerichten. Alle angebotenen Gerichte sind frisch und sehr lecker. Die Taverne befindet sich in einer schönen Location, innerhalb einer Aula. Das Personal ist wie in fast allen Tavernen auf Naxos sehr gastfreundlich.

The taverna

Das Restaurant “The taverna” befindet sich in bzw. auf dem 5 Sterne Naxos Island Hotel in Agios Prokopios. Im Restaurant auf dem Dach des Hotels werden den ganzen Tag über Snacks und Getränke angeboten. Am Abend bietet das Restaurant feine traditionelle griechische und internationale Küche. Das Restaurant ist nicht nur für Gäste des Naxos Island Hotel geöffnet! Zusätzlich zum ausgezeichneten Menu und einem vorzüglichen Service bietet das Restaurant einen einmaligen Blick über Naxos und oftmals einen traumhaften Sonnenuntergang. Webseite des Restaurants

Beste Gerichte auf Naxos

Paradiso

Die Taverne Paradiso befindet sich am nördlichen Anfang des Plaka Strandes, ein paar hundert Meter nach dem kleinen Hafen von Agia Anna. Da die Taverne Tische direkt auf dem Sandstrand von Plaka hat, ist sie eine klasse Location für einen Nachmittags Besuch. Auch das Paradiso bietet klassische griechische Vor- und Hauptspeisen zu moderaten Preisen.

Taverne Mikri Vigla

Die Taverne Mikri Vigla befindet sich in der zweiten Bucht des Mikri Vigla Strandes, also hinter dem Surfer und Kitesurfer Strand, direkt auf dem Strand. Die Taverne ist in der Mittags- und Nachmittagszeit sehr gut besucht und meist ist es schwierig in der Hauptsaison einen Tisch zu bekommen. Die Qualität der Vor- und Hauptspeisen ist ausgezeichnet, und auch hier ist der Service exzellent. Die Preise sind moderat.

Efthimios

Ein Ausflug zur nordwestlichen Seite von Naxos lohnt sich in jedem Fall. Hier in der Bucht von Abram, rund 20 km von Naxos Stadt (Chora), befindet sich die Taverne Efthimios. Die Taverne befindet sich direkt am Strand und die angebotenen Gerichte sind klassisch griechisch. Oftmals wird frischer Fisch angeboten. Die Preise sind leider etwas teurer als in den touristischen Gegenden von Naxos. Trotzdem ist ein Abstecher mehr als zu empfehlen.